What’s going on…


One could argue I might be experiencing a perplexing quandary regarding “This Gay Man’s Life…”

My closest friends know that I loathe and despise discussing politics publicly, and when I think about some of the issues our communities are facing, all I can think is “Politics!  Fucking politics!!”

Is politics a bad thing?  I do not believe so.  Is politics a good thing?  I do not believe so.

Over the years, I have met a few people tell me that the Tarot is evil, or Satanic, or some other kind of highly incorrect belief.  Interestingly enough, some of the people who have told me this are Gay Men or Lesbians, with a few bisexuals thrown in for good measure.  Interestingly enough, I have yet to hear this from a Transgendered person.

I use the analogy of fire.  Fire can be used to heat homes and cook foods, and fire can be used to torture or kill a person or animal, and it can also be used to burn down a house.

The same can be said about anything, including the subject of politics.

Perhaps politics simply has the misfortune of having a bad rap (or is it rep?).

Several years ago, I used to watch a television series on PBS called Mythquest.  The very talented and sexy Christopher Jacot portrayed Alex Bellows (short for Alexander) and the lovely and charming Meredith Henderson portrayed his sister Cleo (short for Cleopatra) Bellows.

In one of the episodes, Cleo enters the “myth” of the Oracle of Delphi to ask about her missing father, but then she discovers that she becomes the Oracle of Delphi, what some called the Pythia.

Later on in this episode, appropriately entitled “The Oracle,” the priests are seen discussing the Oracle’s prognostications, and then they decided they needed to reword them to secure funds.

And yes, those of you know me I immediately uttered aloud “Why am I not surprised?!”

I still love the series, although the Ask.com has it incorrect that the series is available, via Netflix instant stream.  I have Netflix and could not find Mythquest, but I digress.

Again, I do not hate politics.  I do not hate anything or anyone.

What I do wish to acknowledge is that I do not understand, nor wish to understand the immense hate, fascination, and intrigue people have about politics.

However, as Gay Men, Lesbians, Bisexuals and Transgendered individuals, perhaps we need to become more aware of politics, and politicians and see if they have our best interests at heart, and in Mind.

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “Kameron George.”  Thank you for honoring who you are and what you do.  May you receive insight, pleasure and peace from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And for those of you already following and reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” may you continue to receive awareness, and understanding.

As always, thank you for honoring who you are and what you do, and thank you for honoring who I AM and what I do.questionmarkman

What do you think?

