Have you been to Yolandaland? Part I…


Those of you that have known me for years, know that when I AM not giving Readings, writing WordPress blog posts, leading Metaphysical Classes, or spending time with people who I love and adore, I AM home.  Either reading a book, writing in my journals, organizing my home, or lounging in bed.

Last year, I began to receive Divine Guidance to make time for attending cultural events.

So, last year, I found out that a local cultural center in my area was featuring a performance of Rev. Yolanda and her “Old-Time Gospel Hour.”

Now, it just so happens that I love Gospel music; in fact, I do not listen to it enough.

So, let me tell you about the Divine Force known as Rev. Yolanda (also known as Roger Anthony Yolanda Mapes).  On her Website, she is listed as a “Singer Songwriter–Interfaith Minister–Gender Bender.”  As someone who has had the honor of watching her (oh, dear!  I AM going to be switching pronouns during this post!), and have spent time with her after her performances, I can honestly say that description is accurate, but all too brief.

Then again, one can only fit so many words, on the top of the Website page, but I digress.

Speaking of which, there is a section of Rev. Yolanda’s Website that is rapidly becoming one of my favorites: “Awards.”  Some of the awards Rev. Yolanda has received (thus far), include, but are certainly not limited to:

 

Rev. Yolanda’s song “Home” from her newest album, Country Gospel Kirtan was voted the #1 song of 2013 by OutVoice (http://www.outvoice.net);

Rev. Yolanda is a member of the LGBT Hall of Fame (and I must confess, up until I met Rev. Yolanda, I did not know such a thing existed!);

And, of course, this Summer we shall see the release of Rev. Yolanda–The Movie.  You can learn more, as well as see a clip, by visiting http://www.goyolanda.com.

 

Now, for those of you that have yet to see Rev. Yolanda perform, it is a wonderful mix of Gospel, Country, comedy and, at times, very moving shares about her life.  She is funny and caring.  She often describes herself as “where the Divine Feminine meets the Divine Masculine in the arms of Love.”  And she/he is!

If you have yet to visit Yolandaland, I AM very happy to let you know that Rev. Yolanda has become one of the artists in residence at The Duplex in Manhattan, NYC.  (http://www.theduplex.com).

I have had the honor and pleasure of seeing Rev. Yolanda perform at The Duplex several times already, and thoroughly look forward to more!  Now, the first time I saw her perform, the performance was free, and I have willingly and Lovingly spent money to travel to Manhattan, and then to The Duplex, and then at The Duplex, because I receive so much for my time and money, but I digress.

Rev. Yolanda shall be back at The Duplex on Easter Sunday, April 20, 2014, 6:30PM, as well as on Mother’s Day, Sunday, Sunday, May 11, 2014, 6:30PM.  .  If you are in the NYC area then, and want to have a good time with great Energy, I cannot over-recommend going to The Duplex to listen to Rev. Yolanda’s Old Time Gospel Hour, “Chapter II–Be the Love.”

To make reservations, you can visit http://http:www.yolanda.net and click on the photograph of Rev. Yolanda with her arms spread wide.

And in the event, that you cannot make either next month (April) or May, sign up for Rev. Yolanda’s Email newsletter to receive updates on upcoming shows.

Tomorrow, Monday, March 24, 2014, I shall conclude this two-part post about Rev. Yolanda and Yolandaland.

However, there shall be a surprise as to where you shall see it.

Stay tuned!

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “tomlroy.”  May you receive Great Pride and Great Honor from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And for those of you already following and reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” may you continue to receive great insight into the life of “This Gay Man’s Life,” as well as the lives of other Gay Men, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Transgendered people.  Thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.EASTERbanner2014

One thought on “Have you been to Yolandaland? Part I…

What do you think?

