The Essence of the Militant Homosexual…


Sometimes I wonder if I AM a militant homosexual.  Sometimes I think there is no way I could be one.

Sometimes I think that I shall become one if I allow myself to be  a free spirit all the time, as opposed to, occasionally (read: rarely).

Yesterday, Friday, March 28, 2014, I was thinking about how I walk.  Thirty-two per cent of the time, I walk like I AM in a music video; thirty-three per cent of the time I walk like I AM in the military; thirty-five per cent of the time I walk like George Jefferson (portrayed brilliantly by [the late and great] Sherman Hemsley).

So far, in my life, I have signed numerous petitions, but have only been to two Gay Pride Parades (both in Manhattan), and I have yet to take part in a demonstration.  Also, as soon as I find out that a company does not treat its LGBT employees fairly, I stop spending my Gay CA$H on their products or services (The Salvation Army has lost out on my money, which is a damn shame, and I have never seen the prices on Barrilla pasta so low in my life!).

And yet, there is a part of me that wonders, what would happen if I allowed this part of me to be set free?  Would I be arrested?  Would someone throw a brick at me?  Would I kill someone?

Yes, these are all the kinds of “what if” questions that are excellent for destroying one’s sanity, but I feel that as an openly Gay Man, and as a Spiritual man, I have a responsibility to engage in Self-Inquiry.

Perhaps nothing bad would happen to me if I raised my voice and a big sign in protest about any of the harmful experiences my fellow LGBT people are experiencing, and maybe I simply need to stop thinking about it, and Self-Inquiring and simply do something.

I would love to hear your thoughts in the matter.  Because, frankly, I think I would benefit from someone else’s thoughts about this topic.

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog followers of “This Gay Man’s Life…”  They are: “interestingliterature,” “Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger,” and THE “Cristian Mihai.”  I must confess, I love it when published authors follow my blogs!

May all of you receive great Insight, great Wisdom and great PRIDE from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And for those of you already following and reading this blog, my other blog, http://thetarotman.wordpress.com, or both, thank you for honoring who you are and what you do, and thank you for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.

Thank you, all, for honoring who you are and what you do.  I wish you a lovely and wonderful weekend.actupdemonstrationpicsf

21 thoughts on “The Essence of the Militant Homosexual…

  1. Not being gay, but being a woman who has made the choice not to breed and living in a beautiful but politically arcane place (Arizona) – I am often frustrated by the weight of the oppression that is in the air. Yes, I have ovaries and a uterus. I also have a brain. I am not a mommy because I have no desire to be a mommy. That does not make me unnatural or a monster. My body belongs to me – and all the pleasure and pain that goes with it. (I digress . . . )

    I have come to realize that the personal is the political. Robert, just by being you, just by writing, you are an activist. Perhaps not militant, but an activist just the same. You have a voice, and you use it. You are not an automaton buying into the lie of work-a-day slavery where you have to pretend you are less than human to get through the hours. You are you – and that is remarkable.

    We are human and we count. We make a difference. From what I know about you, you choose love and compassion – always striving toward the highest good – and that counts. And if people don’t believe that love and compassion count then they are sorely missing something beautiful and sacred in their lives.

    And sometimes, yeah, not taking the shit and fighting back does feel like the right thing to do. I believe that if and when you you stand up it will be the right thing to do. I think you will be okay – and any action that you take will be because your spirit has guided you to take it. For goodness sake, I hope no one throws a brick at you. I see instead, strength in solidarity and connection. I see passion and love all around you.

    “True, This! —
    Beneath the rule of men entirely great
    The pen is mightier than the sword. Behold
    The arch-enchanters wand! — itself is nothing! —
    But taking sorcery from the master-hand
    To paralyse the Cæsars, and to strike
    The loud earth breathless! — Take away the sword —
    States can be saved without it!”
    ~ Edward Bulwer-Lytton

    Om shanti my sweet friend!

    Holly

    1. Holly, from the end of the second paragraph, you literally moved me to tears. Just recently, I told one of my personal heras (a “Goddess-ized” form of “hero”) that I need to be open to people contributing to my happiness and you did just that.

      You also Re-Minded me that so many of us WordPress Bloggers are also rediscovering ourselves via our blog posts. Thank YOU for that gift.

      Your comment was long and all the lovelier because of its length. Thank you for Re-Minding me how remarkable I AM.

      And I literally laughed out loud when I read the part about you hope no one throws a brick at me. But I AM long overdue to harass (OOPS!), I mean, petition Archangel Michael, and before a demonstration would be a very good time.

      As always, you honor me greatly, and as always, I AM most thankful.

  2. Protesting is an act of love. It is born of a deeply-held conviction that the
    world can be a better, kinder place. Saying “No” to injustice is the ultimate
    declaration of hope.
    —Amy Goodman (b. 1957) in her book Standing Up To The Madness:
    Ordinary Heroes in Extraordinary Times 2009

  3. I too refuse to support Salvation Army due to their homophobia and have only been to 1 pride parade in NYC (and the company I work for always flies their star balloons in it). I feel I could and should do so much more, but need to find the appropriate outlet for for doing so. Sat in on one meeting in our company’s LGBT employee group, but that’s more of socializing/networking than actual contributions to the world. I know I can make a difference somehow (as we all can if we put our minds to it), just need to find out what that “somehow” is….

    1. Gregg, thank you for your lovely comment, and for being a new follower of “This Gay Man’s Life…”

      After all the amazing comments I received on this post, I AM clear that doing something, anything makes a difference. The fact that you, and I are refusing to purchase anything in a Salvation Army thrift store, or give money when the “Salvationeers” ring that bell during the Holidays means that we are willing to take a stand.

      I AM beginning to realize that taking a stand can be done in many ways, and the Metaphysician in me feels the the opportunity shall present itself when the time is Divinely Right.

      1. Some activists fight with action (where it be demonstration, not spending cash, throwing a brick), others fight with their WORDS. I have a strong sense that if someone uses bigoted homo- or trans* phobic language around you, they will regret it.. with the swift harshness of a gay witch hurling a brick at their head!

        I’ve been an activist (not full-time) since I was a teenager, starting with Reagan & his politics in Central America, anti-choice policies, gay rights, anti war, etc.. I attended my 1st Pride in SF in ’89, the year before I moved here. We all use our voice & our power in different ways. I’m less “active” now, but I am still loud, cranky, and militant.. but these days I’m more likely to go to Folsom St Fair, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Hunky Jesus contest, SlutWalk, and TDOR (Transgender Day of Remembrance) than I am to carry a brick in my purse. As a hospice volunteer, I especially want to support the aging LGBTQI community. And for god’s sake, don’t talk shit in front of me- I will hurl a word-brick faster than you can say militant queer!

        ps. GREAT ACT UP photo!

        1. I must tell you, your entire comment, and especially the first paragraph MADE. MY. DAY!

          I began literally laughing out loud, the kettle for tea began to boil, I needed to pause a commercial on Hulu.com, and Laughter is great Healing Medicine!

          I have had my moments, but given how heavy my bag usually is, an actual brick would be quite cumbersome, to say the least.

          Thank you, also, for sharing a portion of your story with me. It is no coincidence that the perfect WordPress bloggers and followers find themselves in such cool ways.

          As for the photograph, it made sense to me. I remember the phrase “militant homosexual” being used in conjunction with ACT-UP.

          Thank you, again, for much-needed Laughter, and much-accepted Honor.

  4. indeed! some of the best protest photos/memories i have were of ACT UP during the 1st Gulf War. I went to many ACT UP demonstrations in the early 90s (when things got crazy & controversial & they split into 2 factions- POLITICS.. 😀 UGH!)

    those who are meant to cross paths do, & we have! may the sweetness & light of Oshun shine upon you today, and may we all hurl word-bricks when needed! xo

    1. Oh, do not get me started on politics!

      Anyway, yes, I AM remembering an analogy Louise L. Hay used in her “Receiving Prosperity” audio, about meeting people on the “checkerboard of life.”

      And thank you for the Oshun Blessing. Last night, I had a Well-Being issue, and was unable to attend a local screening of “OdunOsun: The Return to Water,” but I knew I needed to stay home and Heal. I was hoping that Oshun would understand, and now I know that She does. Thank you so much.

    1. Yes, in the Yoruban Pantheon, my Mother Is Oshun, and my Father Is Shango.

      And being Cuban, you know!

      Interestingly enough, a few years ago, I was visiting a friend and client who lives in Fort Lauderdale, and I remember I had the house all to myself, and I was listening to a CD of African-Inspired dance music, and I was dancing in ways (as well as shaking my hips) in a VERY unprecedented manner.

      I had no doubt that Oshun was inside me, moving my Body and dancing with full Power and Aliveness.

      To this day, I have not been successful in copying those movements.

What do you think?

