“An Update of Store News and Bookstore Politics…”


Ladies and gentlemen, blog followers and blog readers, it is my pleasure to present another Giovanni’s Room update.

Here is the transcription of the Email I received from Giovanni’s Room yesterday, Tuesday, May 27, 2014, at approximately 2:37PM:

 

Greetings!

As we await the decision of our potential buyers (probably by 6/15/2014 [a Sunday]), we continue to collect accolades.

A young man drove up from New Orleans to gather material on the old store’s last three or four days for an article now in Rolling Stone Online: http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/news/the-last-day-at-giovannis-room-americas-oldest-gay-bookstore-20140521

And now, the news from, at least about, Amazon:

Study offers striking evidence of how Amazon’s dominance is owed to nearly 20 years of favorable tax treatment: http://us6.campaign-archive1.com/?u=4842a22a50a1a030df1a0ac2d&id=3ceed1e9d1&e=dae23cb227

Working at Amazon is “a Soul-Crushing Experience.” http://gawker.com/working-at-amazon-is-a-soul-crushing-experience-1573522379

“I Do Not Know One Person Who Is Happy at Amazon.”  http://gawker.com/i-do-not-know-one-person-who-is-happy-at-amazon-1572478351

Amazon Insiders Tell the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly: http://gawker.com/amazon-insiders-tell-the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly-1570866439

Inside Amazon’s Bizarre Corporate Culture: http://gawker.com/inside-amazons-bizarre-corporate-culture-1570412337

Amazon is a Time Thief, by an Amazon Employee: http://gawker.com/amazon-is-a-time-thief-by-an-amazon-employee-1569841307

When are the Obama/Holder team [going to] recognize that Amazon is destroying the intellectual (and physical) health of the country?

Against the day the new owners take over, we continue to update our inventory records with announcements of forthcoming books, so they will hit the ground running.

Giovanni’s Room

345 South 12th Street

Philadelphia, PA  19107

215-923-2960

giovannis_room@verizon.net

http://www.queerbooks.comgiovannisroombookjamesbaldwin

Advertisements

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s