Meeting “Mommy Man…”


This past Monday, June 16, 2014 (the day after Father’s Day this year), I had the honor and pleasure of going to the Barnes & Noble Booksellers store on West 82nd Street and Broadway in the Upper West Side section of Manhattan to see Jerry Mahoney, yet another WordPress-blogger-turned-published-author, read from his new book, Mommy Man: How I Went from Mild-Mannered Geek to Gay Superdad.

Now, for the record (especially in case some of you were wondering), I love children.  For years, I have been told that I would make a wonderful father.  And my Sun-Sign is Capricorn, which is the Sign of the Father (human and Divine).

Nonetheless, the thing that I love most about children, is that I can say to them, “OK, it’s time for you to go back to your Mommy (or Daddy).  There she/he is!  GO!  YAY!”

If they are my children, I do not have that option.

Nonetheless, I commend Mr. Mahoney, and all the other Gay Men and Lesbians, as well as Transgendered folks and Bisexuals, too, who wish to have children, as well as the ones who are already raising them and doing so wonderfully.

Given that I AM a fanatic for punctuality, and given that Mercury is Retrograding, I not only wanted to be early, but I wanted to make doubly sure I was early as possible.  Not only was I early, but I had enough time to go to the Starbucks inside this Barnes & Noble store for a coffee.  With coffee in hand, I made my way to the upper level for the event.

Interestingly enough, the last time I was in this Barnes & Noble store (which was also my first time in that particular store) I was there for another book signing and book reading event with a Gay Male author.  Two actually (SEE “Tom and Trebor: Rimming, a Horse, and a Faun” by visiting http://thetarotman.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/tom-and-trebor-rimming-a-horse-and-a-faun/).

I immediately found Mr. Mahoney quite endearing and adorable (and those of you that know me, you know I rarely, if ever, refer to another man as “adorable”).  He was funny, and when I learned that he has won awards for his comedy writing, I was not surprised.

Also, there were so many passages that Mr. Mahoney read that came very close to moving me to tears.  And yet, as soon as I began to feel the tears well, he would read something that he had written that was very funny!

Personally, I think I was Sensing how spectacularly loved this man is.  Not only was THE Susie there, but so was his boyfriend/partner, Drew, and one of his best friends (Greg, if I remember correctly).  There was so much Love in that room, that it could not help my Healed Heart and me be moved to tears.

Towards the end of the event, Mr. Mahoney asked if anyone had any questions.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, blog followers and blog readers, Lesbians, my fellow Gay Men, Transgendered folks, Bisexuals, and our straight allies, for many years, I have attended events and/or participated in classes and courses, and when the floor is opened for questions, I AM usually the first one to raise a hand.

When Mr. Mahoney said that if anyone has any questions, I was about to raise my hand, and then I thought, “Well, let me break up the monotony and let someone else raise his or her hand first.”  No one did.  Alas, I was unsuccessful (again) in breaking up that monotony.  I guess I AM more of a “maverick” than I realize (Mr. Mahoney knows exactly what I mean about that!  Ha!)!

So, I raised my hand and asked what advice he would give to a blogger (I managed to refrain from adding “WordPress,” but my fellow WordPress bloggers, you know I meant us!) who wants to become a published author.  He said to keep blogging, build a following, and have a story or high concept in Mind, as publishing houses are not necessarily inclined to read someone’s meanderings.

The only other attendee question that I enjoyed hearing (and that I remembered; I really need to learn shorthand!) Mr. Mahoney answer was the one about which content Drew objected to having included.  Jerry stated that there was nothing that Drew asked be included or omitted.  As if I need to be Re-Minded what a great guy Drew is!

I invite you to purchase your own copy of Mommy Man: How I Went from Mild-Mannered Geek to Gay Superdad, by Jerry Mahoney (Copyright 2014, Taylor Trade Publishing, an Imprint of Rowman & Littlefield, Lanham, Maryland), as well as visit his WordPress blog, http://jerry-mahoney.com.

For now, thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.9781589799226_p0_v1_s260x420

What do you think?

