A Double Header: Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room…


Lesbians, my fellow Gay Men, Transgendered Folks, Bisexuals, and our straight allies: lend me your eyes!

Recently, I received two Emails from Philly AIDS Thrift @ Giovanni’s Room.  One was dated Sunday, September 7, 2014, 11:47AM, and the other yesterday, Monday, September 8, 2014, 11:38AM.

In the interests of time and brevity, I shall give you the juicy (as opposed to the skinny) regarding both Emails.

First, in the Email dated this past Sunday, September 7, 2014, it began with the following:

 

“Philly AIDS Thrift @ Giovanni’s Room is proud to announce our soft opening on Friday, September 12, 2014, at 11AM.  We’re going to open the doors and see what happens, so be there or be square!  Here are only a few of the amazing new items you’ll be able to find at the store.  Come quick and get them before they’re all bought up!”

 

Some of the items listed include, but are not limited to:

 

When She Was Good: Best Lesbian Erotica, Edited by Tristan Taormino

Inside a Pearl, by Edmund White

Letters for My Sisters: Transitional Wisdom in Retrospect, Edited by Andrea James and Deanne Thornton

An Elvis (as in Elvis Presley) Figurine Collection

A pair of “Ride Hard or Go Home” leather chaps

and more!

 

The second post, the one dated yesterday, Monday, September 8, 2014, began with the phrase “Happy Coronation Day Mary Stuart!!”  Then again, so many of us love a Queen!  Ha!

The Email continues with:

 

“Tuesday, September 9: Mary Stuart was crowned Queen of Scotland at just 9 months old on September 9, 1543.  To honor her, a mere 471 years later, we are having a sale.  Just tell the cashier which you prefer: Babies, Monarchs, or Baby Monarchs and anything you buy that day is 25% off.”

 

This Email also Re-Minds the reader of the “SNEAK PEAK” this Friday, September 12, 2014, 11AM.  Also, it lists a book sale from Thursday, September 18-Sunday, September 21, and because “reading is fundamental,” all books purchased at the store during those dates are 50% off!

And finally, towards the end of the month, Philly AIDS Thrift @ Giovanni’s Room is having a Block Party on Saturday, September 27, 2014, 12-6PM.

Now, I have a previous engagement today, Tuesday, September 9, as well as this Friday, September 12, but I AM DEFINITELY GOING to the Block Party!

Interestingly enough, the day before yesterday I told a client that I was already booked up every weekend in September, and, I did not realize that I actually had some availability.  Nonetheless, now I AM most certainly booked up every weekend this month (of course, those of you that have had Readings with me know full well I book up very fast!).

Also, in all the years that I have been going to Philadelphia (and, specifically, the Center City section of Philadelphia), I have never been there on a weekend.  It shall be an adventure, and I can only imagine how many people shall go to this Block Party.

Of course, I shall have my cell phone and my reporter’s notebook at the ready for when I go.  The fact that it is the day after my next “Divine Prosperity Event” is no coincidence!

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do, and for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.

This is the page border in all of the Emails from Philly AIDS Thrift @ Giovanni's Room.
This is the page border in all of the Emails from Philly AIDS Thrift @ Giovanni’s Room.
What do you think?

