Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room…


This past Thursday, October 16, 2014,  I had the honor and pleasure of returning to one of my favorite places: Center City, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

And while there, I also had the opportunity to go to the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.

Granted, I was six days late for the official Grand Opening, but I was happy to go there, six days after the Grand Opening, which was two days ago.

I confess, I was nervous.  I wondered how different it would be from Giovanni’s Room.  And yes, it is somewhat different, but the volunteers were professional, friendly and welcoming, and with lovely Energy, both individually and collectively, and that made me very happy.

Most of you know I PRAYED that Giovanni’s Room would remain open.  Fortunately for many Goddesses, Gods, Angels, and Saints, I can now stop harassing (OOPS!), I mean, petitioning Them.  And fortunately for Philadelphia, and the rest of the United States of America, there is still, at the very least, one LGBT bookstore open, and it has so much more than LGBT books now.

I found some wonderful items that made me very happy.  And the purchases I made certainly made the volunteers happy, and I AM sure the people who Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room serves, too.

And yes, the window seats remain, which made me especially happy.  I love those window seats!

For the record, this post is more photograph-intensive.  So, enjoy the gallery show!

In the meantime, thank you for honoring who you are and what you do, and for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.

One of the new signs at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
One of the new signs at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
Another sign at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
Another sign at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
Some of the merchandise available at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
Some of the merchandise available at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
The information card for one of the items at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
The information card for one of the items at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
My favorite window seat, decorated for Halloween.
My favorite window seat, decorated for Halloween.
The sign announcing the Grand Opening of the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room, at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
The sign announcing the Grand Opening of the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
Some of the items at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
Some of the items at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
Additional merchandise at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
Additional merchandise at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
Needless to say (or, write, as the case may be) I AM VERY happy this fixture remains in the store.
Needless to say (or, write, as the case may be) I AM VERY happy this fixture remains in the store.
One of the display models at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
One of the display models at the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
The sign listing how and what to donate to the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni's Room.
The sign listing how and what to donate to the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.
Look at the GORGEOUS glamour coat that found me!
Look at the GORGEOUS glamour coat that found me!
And how wonderful, I can bring this bag in the next time I go and receive five per cent off my purchase.  Instant Money Miracle!
And how wonderful that I can bring this bag in the next time I go to the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room and receive five per cent off my purchase. Instant Money Miracle!

 

 

What do you think?

