NaBloPoMo, Day 3: Reflections on Spirit Day…


On Thursday, October 16, 2014, I had the honor and pleasure of going Center City, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to visit the Grand (Re) Opening of Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.

Unbeknownst to me, at the time, it was also Spirit Day.

For those of you who do not know what Spirit Day is, please visit the following link

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spirit_Day

Frankly, for many years now, I have made it a regular practice to refrain from reading newspapers, watching television or Internet news broadcasts, as well as visiting news Websites.  I do this for many reasons, but the main reason is that so much of what is reported in the news does a great job of disempowering people, as well as keeping them locked in fear.

Personally, I do not care for conspiracy theories, although I do wish the people who are behind said conspiracies could simply behave and find a hobby, so that I can stop paying attention to their shenanigans, but I digress.

Although I had no idea it was Spirit Day, I knew that I was going to wear purple that day.  In doing so, in following my Magickal Training and “Divine Guidance,” while on my way to Center City’s “Gayborhood” to go to the new Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, I was showing my support of Spirit Day.

On a lighter note, one of my personal favorite Metaphysical books, and one that I AM currently rereading (among others, but, again, I digress) is The Goddess’ Guide to Love: Timeless Secrets to Divine Romance, by Margie Lapanja (Copyright 1999, Conari Press, Berkeley, California).

In this book, one of my favorite sections is the “Cosmic Color Vibrations” and it lists the appropriate colors to wear or use (as in jewelry or loose gemstones) for each day of the week, based on the Planetary Energies that correspond to each day.

October 16, 2014 was a Thursday, and in Magickal Traditions, Thursday is the Day of Jupiter.

According to this Ms. Lapanja, the ideal colors to wear or use on a Thursday, Day of Jupiter, are purple, lavender or lilac.  And I was, indeed, wearing a purple scarf that day.

Sometimes we simply know.  We know what to do, what to say, where to go, etc.

And regarding Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, stay tuned for some upcoming posts about this store, the only remaining LGBT bookstore in the United States.

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “Felicity.”  Thank you for honoring who you are and what you do.  May you receive Inspiration, Healing and PRIDE from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And for those of you already following or reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” thank you for honoring who you are and what you do, and for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.Background_Purple

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo, Day 3: Reflections on Spirit Day…

    1. Thank you. I was very happy about it, too.

      On my first WordPress Blog, “This Is Who I AM” I have a series of posts about Planetary Energies, but here is a brief synopsis:

      Tuesday, Day of Mars
      Wednesday, Day of Mercury
      Thursday, Day of Jupiter
      Friday, Day of Venus
      Saturday, Day of Saturn
      Sunday, Day of the Sun
      Monday, Day of the Moon

      Have a great day, and thanks for reading.

      Hooray for National Blog Posting Month! Stay tuned!!

What do you think?

