NaBloPoMo, Day 5: “Love the sinner, hate the sin…”


I have heard this expression for more than two years now, and I remain not at all enamored by it.

However, after I left my apartment building to begin my day, running errands and such, I finally realized why this statement bothers me so much.

I have no hate in my complete Being for anyone.  And, I feel that as a Spiritual person, as well as someone on a High Spiritual Path, I cannot afford, in every way, shape, or form to allow hatred in my complete Being.

Now, does this mean I AM going to invite rapists, pedophiles, serial killers and mass murderers to my home for dinner and dessert?  To paraphrase one of Tyler Perry’s characters, “Hell to the fucking NO!”

Today, I do, however, invite all of you to look at where you may be harboring hate, or intolerance, in the name of your religion or Spiritual Practice.

Personally, I AM a Happily-Recovered-Catholic, and a Moon Magick Witch, with a strong connection to the Ancient Egyptian, Afro-Caribbean and Vodou Pantheons.  I have engaged and even led and co-led Rituals with various Magickal groups, and worked with various Deities of other Pantheons.

And not once, when I was a Catholic, in name only, or in my Spiritual Practice, or in my Practice of the Art and Craft of the Wise, have I harbored hatred; not toward myself, nor toward another.

Now, let me clarify something, especially for those of you who have not met me in person, and/or are new to this blog.  I have A LOT of reasons to hate people, I have a lot of reasons to hate life, I have a lot of reasons to be mentally deranged, and go on a killing spree.  Do I?  No, I do not.

Why?  Frankly, the answer is simple: I do not want to do that.

I want to have a life Divinely Abundant with “Peace, Health and Plenty” with some Love, Adoration, Wealth and outstanding Success added to the mix, as well.

And that means that I have no time, no desire to cultivate, no intention of welcoming hate into my life.

Everyone is different.  So many of us have different religions and Spiritual Paths.  We all have preferences and things we enjoy in others (for me, it is usually hot coffee, iced tea, pasta and pastries, and in men, usually, hairy and Latino!).

Am I better than you?  Not for a second!  Do I want to be better than you?  No.  Please, my schedule is busy enough!

However, I invite all of you to look at what you may be harboring, either against yourself or another.  If you do, why?  Is it because of something you are, or something someone else is, or because of something you or someone else said, did not say, did, did not do?  Or, is it because of something you were taught to believe?

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “sarahleelopez4377.”  Thank you for being one of the wonderful straight allies the LGBT community has in ever-increasing numbers.  May you receive great Healing, great Empowering and great PRIDE from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And for those of you already following or reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” thank you for honoring who you are and what you do.

I have never heard of this man before, but I love his message.
I have never heard of this man before, but I love his message.
And I never heard of this man before, either, but I love his message, too.
And I never heard of this man before, either, but I love his message, too.
7 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo, Day 5: “Love the sinner, hate the sin…”

  1. It’s like you read my mind with this post! I absolutely hate when people say this “love the sinner hate the sin” crap. I hate it! Who even does that, who breaks people apart and says oh I love you but there’s conditions because I don’t love your sinner qualities, we are ALLL sinners according to the bible that people follow like sheep. So this statement should be applying to everyone or here’s an idea let’s just practice unconditional love if we actually love someone. Oh organized religious crazies get under my skin.
    However I absolutely love this post and it’s message. I love being spiritually open and believing that the main fundamental point of religion and spirituality is to treat people like people, like you want to be treated and to always strive to better ourselves. Well said, well said 🙂

    1. I can honestly say that when it comes to telling people that I AM NOT religious, but Spiritual, I do it so fast, I AM surprised that I do not warp into another timeline!

      Seriously, I think if I was completely straight and loved banging pussy, I would still stay well and truly as far away as possible from any religion that promotes hate. I know of no Spiritual Leader or Teacher, from Yeshua (which is how I have been Divinely Guided to refer to Jesus the Christ) to the present day that promotes or encourages hatred.

      And, I fully agree with you, too. Why not simply be Spiritually Open and Unconditionally Loving?!

      Incidentally, this is how my Spiritual Practice and my writing practice works. Sometimes I have what I call a “River of Clairvoyance,” and sometimes I simply channel. And some other times, as I AM walking, running errands, thoughts come into my Mind and unfold.

  2. Reblogged this on Truth Shall Set You Free So Don't Be A Crybaby and commented:
    This came up in my feed this morning, posted by new lovely friend over at This Gay Man’s Life… I of course had to share because as most of you who follow me know I am all about acceptance especially when it comes to the LGBT community. I’m also quite anti-organized religion which let’s face it are the primary cardholders to this “love the sinner hate the sin” comment which I hate by the way. The message in his post is worth sharing as is the pics at the end with some fabulous quotes.

What do you think?

