Joseph R. G. DeMarco at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, Part I…


This past Tuesday, December 2, 2014, I had the honor and pleasure of returning to Center City, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to attend a book reading event at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, featuring Mr. Joseph R. G. DeMarco.

Those of you who follow or read “This Gay Man’s Life…” know that there is no shortage of posts about Giovanni’s Room, now known as Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.

Earlier in the day, this past Tuesday, I had the honor and pleasure of meeting a lovely Philadelphian in person; with my schedule, I AM not always able to meet some of the people I meet, via the Internet, in person, but meeting Internet friends, in person, can be enjoyable.

In doing so, I had the honor and pleasure of letting him know that Giovanni’s Room (or, rather, Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room) is open, once again.

Anyway, I had a wonderful time being in one of my favorite places in Center City.  Of course, in spite of enjoying myself at the Reading Terminal Market (especially Beiler’s Doughnuts!), the main reason I was there was to attend this book reading event.

Well, I had just enough time to stop in at Toast (another Center City place that I always visit when in Center City), to get a coffee and a spritzer (my usual combo of flavors: Lavender and Hibiscus), and on my way to Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room.

I arrived just in time, as the seats were beginning to fill up rather quickly.

The evening was lovely, and I enjoyed learning more about the family life of Marco Fontana, the central figure in Mr. DeMarco’s “Marco Fontana Mystery Series.”

I had the pleasure of re-introducing myself to Mr. DeMarco, and was thrilled to learn that he had both heard about and read my blog post about his appearance at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room (for those of you who may have missed it, you can read it by visiting https://thisgaymanslife.wordpress.com/2014/11/04/joseph-r-g-demarco-at-philly-aids-thrift-at-giovannis-room/

I must confess, I have no idea how he found out about the post, and although I thought to ask him, for some reason, I stopped myself from doing so.

I was more than happy to purchase his books: Crimes on Latimer: From the Early Cases of Marco Fontana (Copyright 2012, Lethe Press, Maple Shade, New Jersey); and Death on Delancey (Copyright 2014, also published by Lethe Press); and A Study in Lavender: Queering Sherlock Holmes, edited by Mr. DeMarco (Copyright 2011, also published by Lethe Press).

To learn more about Mr. DeMarco, I invite you to visit his Website, and in particular, visit the following link:

http://www.josephdemarco.com/author_biography.php

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.  Thank you to my blog followers, and to those of you who read “This Gay Man’s Life…” without officially following it.

Good night, and sweet dreams.joe_staff_photo

What do you think?

