Joseph R. G. DeMarco at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, Part II…


Between the publishing of the “Part I” of this post, and this “Part II” post, I have come to the conclusion that I need to begin and sustain writing my notes for blog posts with all capital letters when taking notes, if for no other reason, because this is the second time I have taken notes to be used for blog posts, and I can only read fifty per cent of said notes.

Indeed, looking at the notes I took last Tuesday, December 2, 2014, while attending Mr. DeMarco’s book reading event, and looking at said notes a few moments ago, I can barely read what I wrote.

Nonetheless, I understood enough to be able to conclude this two part blog post regarding Mr. DeMarco’s book readingn event at Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room last Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 6-8PM.

One of my favorite portions of a book reading event, is when attendees have the opportunity to ask the authors questions.

One of the questions Mr. DeMarco was asked was which authors he reads.  He began his response with saying that he reads authors many of us have never heard of before.  One of those authors is named Len Deighton, who is the author of, among others, SS-GB, An Expensive Place to Die, and The IPCRESS File.

And yes, I can honestly say that I had never heard of Mr. Len Deighton before.

Mr. DeMarco also mentioned Lee Child, who is the author of, among others, the “Jack Reacher Series” of thrillers.  Now, Mr. Lee Child, I had heard of before, as well as having read a few of his novels, too.

I also noticed a few notables in the audience.  One of them is Mr. Ed Hermance, who is the former owner of Giovanni’s Room.  In fact, at one point, I heard a man asking Mr. DeMarco a question, and I remembered thinking, “I know that voice.”  I turned around, and lo and behold!  Mr. Ed Hermance!

Another attendee commented on how much he loves the fact that Mr. DeMarco uses names of actual streets found in Center City.

And for those of you who have not been to the Center City section of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (and there is a reason why I AM including the name of the state, which I shall state in the next paragraph), there is, indeed, a Camac Street, as in Murder on Camac, a Pine Street, as in A Body on Pine. 

Then again, those of us that have been to Giovanni’s Room, now known as Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room, we know that it is located at the corner of South 12th and Pine Streets, but I digress.

Also, there is a Latimer Street, as in Crimes on Latimer: From the Early Cases of Marco Fontana, and a Delancey Street (as well as a Delancey Place), as in Death on Delancey.

Now, I rarely listen to the meteorology reports on the radio, or on TV, or on the Internet, as they are, in my experience, rarely an accurate depiction of the actual weather that takes place.

Nonetheless, on Monday, December 1, 2014, I decided to look up the weather report, just in case, and so I visited one of the most accurate weather Websites on the Internet, at this time: noaa.gov.  Which stands for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

When I entered Philadelphia, I truly had no idea there were so many of them in the United States of America.  However, before I could proceed, the NOAA Website needed me to specify which Philadelphia.  To say that I was amazed, is an understatement.

Some things need to be seen to be believed, so here are all the Philadelphias in this country, as well as American Municipalities that also have “Philadelphia” as a portion of their name.

 

Philadelphia Station, MD (Harford County)
Philadelphia Point, LA (Ascension Parish)
Philadelphia, IL (Cass County)
Philadelphia, IN (Hancock County)
Philadelphia, VA (City of Suffolk County)
Philadelphia, NC (Richmond County)
Philadelphia, NC (Camden County)
Philadelphia, AL (Houston County)
Philadelphia, AL (Calhoun County)
Philadelphia, TN (Washington County)
Philadelphia, TN (Maury County)
Philadelphia, AR (Craighead County)
Philadelphia, AR (Columbia County)
Philadelphia, NM (Cibola County)
Philadelphia, MO (Marion County)
Philadelphia, NY (Jefferson County)
Philadelphia, PA (Philadelphia County)
Philadelphia, TN (Loudon County)
Philadelphia, MS (Neshoba County)

 

Also in attendance was Mr. Jason Li, who has been mentioned in the dedications and acknowledgements of Mr. DeMarco’s books.  Indeed, he is a truly good friend to him, and definitely a walking commercial for Joseph R. G. DeMarco, author and writer.

The other person Mr. DeMarco mentions in his mother Caroline, but I do not know if she was in attendance.  Offhand, I do not recall seeing a woman who could be in her 70s or 80s in attendance, but I digress.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.  Keep living with great PRIDE.

I rarely read short story books, so I AM certainly looking forward to reading this one.
I rarely read short story books, so I AM certainly looking forward to reading this one.
What do you think?

