Book Review: “Lavender Reflections…”


Although I rarely make New Year resolutions, I did promise myself that in 2015, “The Year of Taking it to the Next Level,” I would begin working with a beautiful book that I have owned for several years.

Over the years, I have purchased many books at Giovanni’s Room (which, as many of you know, is now known as Philly AIDS Thrift at Giovanni’s Room).

One of my favorite book purchases is Lavender Reflections: Affirmations for Lesbians & Gay Men, by Eleanor Ruth Wagner, photographs by Victor Arimondi (Copyright 1995, Alamo Square Press, San Francisco, California).

It is one of those books that features every date of the calendar year (alas, it excludes February 29, but I digress).

Each day features an Affirmation, or Treatment, to use Louise L. Hay’s term, or a quotation from a well-known Lesbian or Gay Man of past or present.

 

For example, this is the entry for today (Sunday), January 11, with the subject “Beauty in Loving:”

The Affirmative Statement begins with “In the beauty of others’ bodies, I see my own.”  And then it continues with:

“Beautiful people, beautiful bodies.  I am one with my gender as I appreciate the loveliness of all of us.”

 

Although the book was written for Lesbians and Gay Men, the Affirmations could be adapted for Bisexuals and Transgendered people, too.

The book is a wonderful way to set intentions on how to be a personally empowered and Spiritually Uplifted member of the LGBT Communities, as well as how to move forward in healing your past.

Based on my visits to both bn.com and half.com (an eBay company), it looks like this book is no longer in print, but you can find copies for purchase at both Websites.

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “dcpassion2009.”  May you receive great insight, great love, and great PRIDE from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And for those of you already following or reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” thank you for honoring who you are and what you do, and for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.lavenderreflections

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: “Lavender Reflections…”

What do you think?

