Selected Excerpts from “Lavender Reflections…”


This morning, I woke up early, to engage in reading and writing Spiritually Uplifting words.

As I was reading passages from the two “page-a-day” books with which I AM working this year, Affirmations for the Inner Child, by Rokelle Lerner, and Lavender Reflections: Affirmations for Lesbians & Gay Men, by Eleanor Ruth Wagner, photographs by Victor Arimondi, I was Divinely Guided to share some of these passages with all of you.

Here we go…

 

January 8

Self-Liberation

The laws of God, the laws of man

He may keep that will and can

Not I: let God and man decree

Laws for themselves and not for me;

And if my ways are not as theirs

Let them mind their own affairs.

Their deeds I judge and much condemn,

Yet when did I make laws for them?

“Last Poems, XII,” from The Collected Poems of A. E. Housman

 

February 10

Anger

My anger is an important part of me.

Anger is a sane response to the reality of my life.  Dealing with the homophobic world, I feel angry.  I get furious at the world that tells me I am bad and sick and defective.  I am enraged when people try to change me or decide for me whether I should be in or out of the closet.  I am angry with myself for not consistently standing up to the world proudly or for not always loving myself just the way I am.

Often I try to hide or deny my feelings.  Today I acknowledge my anger and choose new ways of dealing with it that do not destroy myself or others.  I seek people who can support me in all my emotions and places where I can express hostility safely.  In certain circumstances it is inappropriate or unwise to express my anger, but I need a way to deal with all those angry feelings, and I can structure ways of doing that.

Being angry doesn’t have to mean being out of control.  Sometimes I need to shout my anger, but I can also be angry in a soft voice.  I can find safe physical ways of dealing with strong feelings, and sometimes simply talking or crying helps me work them through.

As I deal with my anger, I am finding there is less of it, and I can live without a constant chip on my shoulder.  I am being healthy in my anger.

 

March 8

Healing from Abuse

I heal from sexual abuse.

Many people, heterosexual, homosexual and bisexual, male and female, have suffered sexual abuse.  Even if I have not experienced such abuse myself, someone close to me may be a survivor of abuse, and I choose to participate in the collective healing of a sick society that has allowed this violence to occur.

I need to be patient and impatient–letting myself know that the healing will take a long time while working to find the help I need to speed the healing process.  Trusting my inner voice, I do whatever is necessary to take care of myself.  I did not deserve this abuse.  I do deserve to heal.

I realize that my sexual orientation is a positive aspect of my selfhood, not the negative after-effect of past trauma.  I affirm that no one can make me homosexual or heterosexual.  If I am bisexual, my life experiences may affect which gender I choose for my relationships, but when it is a choice, I am in control of that choice.  As I find more joy in my same-sex loving, I refuse to give any perpetrator of evil credit for what is good in my nature.  I am who I am, and I am healing with each new day.

 

May these Life-Affirming words empower you, heal you, strengthen you.

Thank you for honoring who you are and what you do.9781886360020_p0_v1_s114x166

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.