A Modest Proposal For Religious Freedom Laws


I had the honor and pleasure of meeting Jerry Mahoney in person for his book signing of “Mommy Man: How I Went from Mild-Mannered Geek to Gay Superdad.” And it became very clear to me, right off the bat, why he has won awards for comedic writing.

Nonetheless, he raises a very good point in this post, and although he certainly does not need to be reblogged (far from it, frankly), I admire and agree with a great deal of what he wrote, and so, I AM reblogging. Enjoy!

jerry-mahoney.com

Refuseservice1

In 1994, I moved to Los Angeles to attend film school, and I quickly discovered a local hangout called Barney’s Beanery. It was one of those places that hipsters would call a “dive”, which meant the décor was fashioned to look old and tacky but there weren’t actually any creepy drunks lingering around to bring everyone down. My friends and I used to hang out there and talk about movies, because we heard Shane Black went there to write, and because the menu was full of the kind of deep-fried pub food that we were too young to realize we shouldn’t be eating so much of.

Then one day, the one openly gay guy in my MFA program (I wasn’t yet brave enough to come out myself) told me why he never joined us when we went there.

“The owners are homophobes,” he said.

“No!” I insisted. “That’s impossible.”

He…

View original post 1,169 more words

What do you think?

