NaPoWriMo, Day 7: “My Voice,” by Rafael Campo…


Once again, the Poetry Foundation’s “LGBTQ Pride Poems” has helped me for tonight’s post, in honor of National Poetry Writing Month (or, NaPoWriMo, for short).

This one is not only written by a Gay Man, but by a Cuban Gay Man (which means I have two things in common with the poet).

And here it is:

 

My Voice,

by Rafael Campo

To cure myself of wanting Cuban songs,

I wrote a Cuban song about the need

For people to suppress their fantasies,

Especially unhealthy ones.  The song

Began by making reference to the sea,

Because the sea is like a need so great

And deep it never can be swallowed.  Then

The song explores some common myths

But the Cuban people and their folklore:

The story of a little Carib boy

Mistakenly abandoned by the sea;

The legend of a bird who wanted song

So desperately he gave up flight; a queen

Whose strength was greater than a rival king’s.

The song goes one about morality,

How deep it is, how many creatures need

Its nourishment, how beautiful it is

To need.  The song is ending now, because

I cannot bear to hear it any longer.

I call this song of needful love my voice.

 

I just finished reading Mr. Campo’s bio, and all I can say is ‘WOW!”

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.

And good night!

rafael-campo
A photo of Mr. Rafael Campo, from the Poetry Foundation’s Website.

 

 

 

What do you think?

