NaPoWriMo, Day 8: “Please,” by Sappho…


Lately, figures from the Ancient Greek Cosmology have been making Their Presence known in my life.

And with that, I honorably transcribe this poem from the Divine Daughter of Lesbos, Sappho, entitled “Please.”

 

Please

Come back to me, Gongyla, here tonight,

You, my rose, with your Lydian lyre.

There hovers forever around you delight:

A beauty desired.

 

Even your garment plunders my eyes.

I am enchanted: I who once

Complained to the Cyprus-born goddess,

Whom I now beseech

 

Never to let this lose me grace

But rather bring you back to me:

Amongst all mortal women the one

I most which to see.

–Translated by Paul Roche

 

For some more of the late and great Sappho’s poetry, feel free to visit:

http://www.sappho.com/poetry/sappho.html

For now, thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.

Good night.

Thanks to bing.com for helping me find this image.
Thanks to bing.com for helping me find this image.
What do you think?

