My personal reflections on ageism…


After having read and reread Queerty.com’s “Open Letter to Ageist Gay Men” (which you can read by visiting http://www.queerty.com/an-open-letter-to-ageist-gay-men-20150504 ), I felt it was time for me to share some of my own insights and reflections.

Personally, I AM at a point in my life, that I can honestly say (at least, ninety per cent of the time) that I AM at Peace with all of Life.

Yes, I do have my off days, my bad days, my days when I really wonder why I do not own a Glock 9 mil (oh, I remember: I love being a free man, as opposed to being Bubba’s prison bitch!), but all in all, I enjoy my life much more now than I have these last few years.

There are many reasons for that, professionally and personally, but ultimately, it has to do with my outlook on life, my Spirituality, and the fact that virtually everyone in my life right now is a Loving, Spiritual and Prosperous person.

Frankly, there are moments when I forget I AM forty-five years-of-age, but I love being 45.  I remember what my life was like when I was a teenager (HELL!), when I was in my early 20s (HELL!), when I was in my late 20s (HELL!), when I was in my early 30s (a little less HELL, but still HELL), and there are, indeed, benefits and Blessings to being my current chronological age.

And that bullshit about fifty is the new forty, and forty is the new thirty, oh, please!  That nonsense could not even garner a Clio Award Nomination!

Nonetheless, I love my age, have PRIDE regarding my age, and have neither the intention nor the desire to be younger.

Now, if you want to be younger, that is your business, but I love growing older, I love that there are men (including younger men) that find me either more interesting and/or more attractive because of my age, and love the fact that I have only one or two gray hairs (I honestly forget I have those, too!).

Now, if you are a Gay Man that is younger than, say, thirty and younger, I want to state, here and now, that I know all too well, that all of you are not the same.

Not all Gay Men are the same, everyone.  I think we forget that.  A LOT!

I think we are long overdue to move past the stereotypical in our own community and transcend those stereotypes.  Or, at the very least, consider looking at which “opinions” prevent us from being fully Self-Expressed Gay Men with other Gay Men.

Interestingly enough, I found out a few moments ago, that Queerty.com published a related post.  Feel free to check it out by visiting:

http://www.queerty.com/what-older-gays-really-think-of-young-gays-and-vice-versa-20150511

Please feel free to share your thoughts, regardless of your age.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who you are and what you do.younger and older

5 thoughts on “My personal reflections on ageism…

    1. You are welcome, Holly, and thank you, too.

      Indeed, as I stated in my post, I often forget my age, because I refuse to be locked in and locked up by the nonsense that usually accompanies growing older.

      Frankly, my memory remains as sharp as a court stenography machine, my eyesight remains good, and my libido is not slowing down, either. Put in park, given my professional schedule, but there is a difference between a car in park and a car shut off!

      No more ageism, indeed!

      1. Yes! Yes! Yes! I love you, Robert! I admit, I went through almost a year of big fear over my age, and then, one day, it didn’t matter any more. And now, I know who I am – and I make clear choices in how I experience my life more and more every day. That feels like the biggest thing to me as I have gotten older – the KNOWLEDGE that I have CHOICE. That’s a big deal. xoxo AND, I feel sexier than ever. 😉

        1. Holly, I could not agree with you more. Knowledge and Choice are two of the many Blessings that come when one is older.

          And I have no doubt you feel sexier than ever. Clearly, you are also looking sexier than ever, too!

What do you think?

