Bureau of General Services–Queer Division…


In the last few months, I have written blog posts on “This Gay Man’s Life…” about events that I have attended at the Bureau of General Services–Queer Division (or, the Bureau, for short).  I have stated in said blog posts that I need to write an actual blog post about the Bureau.

After attending a recent (as well as lovely, or rather, another lovely event) at the Bureau, not to mention telling both of its co-founders, Donnie Jochum and Greg Newton, how much I love their space (very much, in fact!) and then mentioning this WordPress Blog, I knew the time had come for me to finally sit my ass down and write this blog post.

And yes, my beautiful followers and readers, you can say it (or, in this case, write it).  In fact, I shall happily start you off: “Robert, it is about FUCKING TIME you wrote a blog post about the Bureau!”

So here it is.

The Bureau brings back a Queer bookstore, art and cultural space to Manhattan, NYC.

Those of us who live in or near NYC and are at least twenty-five years of age may recall that Manhattan had two LGBTQ bookstores: A Different Light and the Oscar Wilde Memorial Bookshop.  As you also know, they closed up their respective shops many years ago.

The Bureau was originally located in the Strange Loop Gallery, located on Orchard Street, in the Lower East Side section of Manhattan, NYC from November, 2012, until August, 2013.  From there, it moved to Hester Street, also in the Lower East Side, and was there from September, 2013, until September, 2014.

I vaguely recall when it was located at Strange Loop Gallery, but was very happy that I discovered it in the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Community Center, located on West 13th Street in the Greenwich Village section of Manhattan.

Although I AM a happy Gay Man, I was happy to have attended a Bisexual Book Club meeting, as my very first Bureau experience.  In addition, I happen to have a dear friend who is a fellow professional Lightworker (specifically, an Energy Healing Practitioner) and who is also Bisexual, and he accompanied me to the book club meeting.

Frankly, I was happy to introduce someone else to the Bureau, so soon after learning about its existence.

Since then, I have been to about four or five other events at the Bureau, and looking forward to attending others.  By the way, did you know, the Bureau hosted 171 events in 2014?

For more information about the Bureau of General Services–Queer Division, as well as upcoming events, offering to volunteer, or arranging to make donations (because really, Manhattan has already had two queer bookstores close, having another one would simply not do!), you can visit their Website:

 

http://bgsqd.com/

 

I AM most thankful to both Donny and Greg for co-founding the Bureau, and for all they do there, and make no mistake, they do a lot!

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “thescalesofapisces.”  Thank you for honoring who you are and what you do.  May you receive great information and great PRIDE from following “This Gay Man’s Life…”

And to those of you already following or reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” thank you for honoring who you are and what you do, and for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.BGSQDlogo

2 thoughts on “Bureau of General Services–Queer Division…

    1. Thank you so much for the pingback. I AM most thankful.

      Also, so happy that a post I wrote more than a year ago is still making a difference.

      The Goddess Is alive and well, and Magick is afoot!

What do you think?

