Giovanni’s Room…


This past Thursday, February 20, 2014, I had the honor and pleasure of returning to one of my favorite places on the Planet: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Every time I go to Philadelphia, I always go to the “Center City” section of Philadelphia, and every time I go to Center City, Philadelphia, I always go to Giovanni’s Room.

According to the bookstore’s Website, Giovanni’s Room was founded in 1973 (making it three years younger than me), and is the recipient of the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission Marker, which was unveiled on Sunday, October 15, 2011 (see photograph in this post).

Because it is the only remaining LGBT bookstore in the United States of America, I always make a point of going to Giovanni’s Room every time I visit the Center City section of Philadelphia, and always make a purchase of as much as I can spare.  Of course, as a long-time bibliophile, I AM someone who highly advocates going to independent booksellers, but I digress.

Personally, from the first moment I walked into Giovanni’s Room several years ago, I loved the Energy of the bookstore, as well as the employees.  I was warmly welcomed by a lovely gentleman (whose name, alas, I forgot), and was helped almost immediately.

I happen to love the window seats in front of the windows on the first floor (although in this country it would be referred to as the second floor, but I digress), and although the ground floor (first floor in the United States) has one, I usually enjoy the one on the upper level more.  I find it to be more romantic and cozy.

Over the years, I have found books on Goddess Studies at very low prices.

In fact, one of my best purchases was Ariadne’s Thread: A Workbook of Goddess Magic, by Shekhinah Mountainwater (Copyright 1991, The Crossing Press, originally located in Freedom, California; however, as per the information I obtained, via Ask.com  it is now part of The Crossing Press is now part of The Crown Publishing Group, a Division of Random House, Inc., located in New York, New York).

Although I found no Goddess Studies books on sale this past Thursday, I found other goodies, and was very happy to spend my time there, honoring the only remaining LGBT bookstore in this country.

I wholeheartedly invite you to visit http://www.giovannisroom.com and honor them and what they do.

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower, “mindset.”  May you receive great insight about “This Gay Man’s Life…” and perhaps your own by following my brand new blog.

And for those of you already following and reading “This Gay Man’s Life…” thank you so much, for honoring who you and and what you do, and for honoring who I AM and what I do, too.GR_historical_marker_photo_with_flag

2 responses to “Giovanni’s Room…”

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.